Ivy and Bean (Book 1) by Annie Barrows

Editor's Choice

This first book in the hilarious Ivy and Bean series tells the story of how two unlikely neighbors become best friends. We laughed so hard at the end when Bean gets her mean old sister Nancy with the worms. The illustrations help younger readers that are just getting into chapter books – and they’re very funny. We’ve read every book in the series at least 5 times over the years.

As of 2017, The Ivy + Bean Series includes 10 books:

•  Ivy and Bean (Book 1)
•  The Ghost that Had to Go (Book 2)
•  Break the Fossil Record (Book 3)
•  Take Care of the Babysitter (Book 4)
•  Bound to Be Bad (Book 5)
•  Doomed to Dance (Book 6)
•  What’s the Big Idea (Book 7)
•  No News is Good News (Book 8)
•  Make the Rules (Book 9)
•  Take the Case (Book 10)

The illustrations are by Sophie Blackall, the winner of the 2016 Caldecott Medal for her art in Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear.

Author Annie Barrows
Illustrator Sophie Blackall
For Ages 7 to 9 years
Pages 120 pages
Format Paperback

Enter Our Monthly Book Giveaway Contest

Join our email list to learn hear about great books for kids of all ages and you'll be entered automatically each month to win a book.

Win a Free Kids Book

See our Book Blog to learn about this month's free book.

Find More Great Books for Kids

Picture Books

Board Books

Chapter Books

Nonfiction Books